Hammond organist Joe Doria brings together some of the best of the NW music scene to create a powerful and jaw-dropping funk and jazz sound like you’ve never heard, exhibiting a mix of stellar musicianship, seasoned songwriting and deep groove where no musical stone gets unturned. McTuff is a movin’ and groovin’ adventure that you will not soon forget, featuring the impeccable Andy Coe on guitar and the incredible Tarik Abouzied on drums.

McTuff began in 2008 as an ode to jazz organ greats Jimmy Smith and Captain Jack McDuff, and has since evolved into a versatile and exciting group that has performed across the nation. The band has two albums under its belt, their 2009 release McTuff Vol. 1 and their 2011 follow-up McTuff Vol. 2: After the Show, with a third slated for release in Spring 2015.

McTuff has performed at Bumbershoot, the New Orleans Jazz Fest, as well as festivals and venues all over the US. The band has also held a residency at Seattle’s legendary Seamonster Lounge for over five years. Their Tuesday night show has become regular stop for local and traveling musicians including Skerik, Allen Stone, Jeff Coffin (Dave Matthews Band), G Love (and Special Sauce), Blake Lewis, Kevin Sawka, and many others.

The members of McTuff have performed and toured with an impressive list of world-renowned groups and artists including Carlos Santana, Stanton Moore, Ravi Coltrane, Bobby Previte, Michael Shrieve, Mike Stern and many others.

Joe Doria – Hammond Organ / Keys

With a strong library of original compositions, years of exciting performances heading up his own projects, as well as numerous sideman credits, musician and composer Joe Doria is an artist who is carving his own unique voice and sound on the Hammond organ and keys, adding depth and dimension to every project and performance.  For more info and full discography please visit:

The McTuff family:

You can catch all the fantastic members of McTuff live, get on our mailing list and visit our calendar page often for info on McTuff’s latest showings.

The original “McTuff” (O.G. McTuff)

The original McTuff crew that toured extensively across the nation behind the McTuff Vol 1 and McTuff Vol 2: After The Show releases.

Joe Doria – Hammond B3/Synth
Skerik – Saxophone
Andy Coe – Guitar
D’vonne Lewis – Drums

McTuff  2012

Features more of Andy Coe on guitar with the addition of the wonderful, Tarik Abouzied on drums. This is the trio that toured rooms and festivals across the nation for the McTuff: Vol 3: The Root release.  Check these guys out , there’s lots of great live audio and video here of this group.

McTuff  2017

The latest iteration of McTuff in the works features the crazy-good energy of Ehssan Karimi on drums, Marc Fendel on alto sax, and Ari Joshua on guitar.  Be sure and catch it when you can. New sounds and grooves are being concocted with these talented artists for you to dig into.

Kudos of course to McTuff’s (and everyone’s) favorite special guest who’s joined us in nearly
every incarnation of the band…

Skerik – Saxophone

Skerik has toured with: Roger Waters, Fred Wesley, Les Claypool, Critters Buggin, Sadhappy, Beta Popes, Syncopated Taint Septet, Garage a Trois, Stanton Moore, Mike Clark, Headhunters, Robert Walter, Ponga, Wayne Horvitz 4+1 ensemble, Ivan Neville’s Dumpstaphunk, Bobby Previte’s Coalition of the Willing, New York Composer’s Orchestra, Tuatara, Mark Eitzel, Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey, The Dead Kenny G’s, Black Frames, Maelstrom Trio, Master Musicians of Jajouka. ILLUMINASTI trio.Skerik has performed with: Mad Season, Medeski Martin & Wood, Primus, Shock G, The Coup, PBS, G. Calvin Weston, Josh Roseman, Shazhad Ismaily, Clyde Stubblefield, Kenny Drew Jr. Melvin Gibbs, Stewart Copeland, Sex Mob, Crack Sabbath, John Scofield, Blotallika, Larry Coryell, Screaming Trees, Squirrel Nut Zippers, Johnny Vidocovich, George Porter Jr., Funky Meters, Kenny Wolleson, Benevento/Russo Duo, Charlie Hunter, Earl Harvin Trio, Jon Brion, My Name, Kirk Joseph, Big Sam, R.E.M., Warren Haynes, Robert Randolph and the Family Band, The Word, North Mississippi Allstars, James Singleton, Somo-Somo, Remy Ongala, Freestyle Candela, Bheki Mseleku, Aubrey Oaki, Mino Cinelu, Bob Stewart, Bill Ware, Buckethead, Bernie Worrell, Brain, Dr. Lonnie Smith, Ralph Carney, M.I.R.V. Stone Gossard, Lonnie Marshall, Nels Cline, Jeff Parker, Get it Gurl, Bonnie Raitt, Ruth Brown, Howard Tate, Maxi Priest, Steve Berlin, David Hidalgo, Corrosion of Conformity, Hella, Jamaaladeen Tacuma, Ozomatli, Wolves in the Throne Room, Kayo Dot, SUNN O)))), Master Musicians of Bukkake, Todd Sickafoose, Scott Amendola, Doze Green, Dave Ellis, Yoshida Brothers, etc. etc.